Idris Elba – Modern Bespoke Gentleman

Idris Elba, actor, rapper, singer, producer and fashion extraordinaire is always a well dressed gentleman. In this day and age, he is considered to be the one of the best dressed men of the year.

Idris Elba in Tom Ford's 3-Piece Grey-Toned Suit

Idris Elba in Tom Ford’s 3-Piece Grey-Toned Suit

A Three Piece Suit has variations in design, cut and cloth and it determines the social and work suitability of the garment. Look Sharp and Live Smart, GQ’s October Issue 2013 features the English actor shown above all decked out in different variations of wearing a well bespoke three-piece suit. Idris Elba stars on the cover of the issue transforming three-piece suits for the Fall/ Winter season with a triple threat dosage of tweaks giving an entirely new look for the modern bespoke gentleman.

Idris Elba in Tommy Hilfiger

Idris Elba in Tommy Hilfiger

Idris Elba in Tommy Hilfiger as shown above, shows how you can transform a three-piece suit from a formal business attire to a more laid back fast casual outgoing look. In my perspective, this is best suited for a more casual summertime look but with the fall chilly beginnings and close winter comings it is also best suited for the season’s fashion trends, to keep you warm and cuddly. A perfectly custom or even a racked suit is perfect for the winter comings as well. It is very rare these days to look at a man and say he knows what he is doing. I, myself, do find it very hard at times to actually know how to put myself together in a well-mannered and well dressed fashion. I do not own a wool suit but for the winter heading on very heavily, I am thinking deeply about getting one. Look at the best dressed man who we shall all see when he plays in the biopic film of Nelson Mandela, see below. The way the suit fits his body, the alignment of the cut to his body, the versatility, the boldness as well as the assertiveness of the suit makes it the suit of the season, as described by GQ in their October 2013 Issue.

Idris Elba in this wool winter suit by SuitSupply

Idris Elba in this wool winter suit by SuitSupply

“I do like to wear a three-piece suit. I think it’s a very stylish way to wear a suit,” he says in the cover shoot video. “Two-pieces are very, very comfortable for business and whatnot, but not when I’m going out to an event or red carpet. A three-piece just definitely kills it.”

Elba, who recalls wearing his first double-breasted suit complete with bow tie at the age of four, also discussed growing up selling drugs to make ends meet and his embarrassment after learning that he didn’t father a child he thought was his own.

“You know, the truth is—like, even admitting it, I’ll probably get laughed at for the rest of my life. But it is just tragic, and it happened,” he says. “But I wasn’t knocked out. I stood right the f–k back up, and I ain’t aiming to take another punch in the face ever again. Do you understand what I’m saying? It happened to me. I moved on.”

“I’ve not been an angel in my life, either—do you know what I’m saying? So to a certain extent, what goes around comes around. That’s it.”

Remember, in every thing you do, EVERY DETAIL COUNTS!!! Have a spectacular day.

Photos courtesy of GQ – Look Sharp, Live Smart.

Get the full interview of GQ’s October Issue of Mr. Idris Elba – Three Piece Transformed (Click Here)

Leave a Reply

